First Homemade Doughnuts

I got this awesome doughnut pan for Christmas from “Santa,” and I have to say it was my favorite gift! I’m sure Santa’s hard working elves put their heart and soul into mine, but if you’re looking for one to make baked cake doughnuts, Bed Bath & Beyond has them for about $10.

Too excited to try this out, I made 2 different doughnuts recipes last week (not in the same day).

Full Disclosure:
I search for and find almost all the recipes I use on Pinterest and pin them to my Food! board. I usually makes swaps or adjustments. This depends on the occasion or just my mood (if I’m feeling something else or want to get creative). I’ll sometimes make healthy tweaks or want to add some extra flavor or substitute things I don’t have. Anything else, I ask my mom, because her delicious Mexican recipes aren’t found online.
Also, a warning – I started with just one board (I didn’t think I’d become obsessed with Pinterest). That board is now filled with a hodgepodge of thousands of recipes. I should’ve made different boards to keep everything neat and organized but I clearly went pin crazy. Now there’s no way I could possibly ever organize them so, I just keep pinning all food recipes to that same board. My apologies! I always just search keywords to find something in that darn board.

Alright, now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, the first doughnuts I made where these amazing Vanilla Chai Baked Doughnuts.

The recipe is from The Chunky Chef.

These turned out really well. I loved them!

Couple of notes:

  1. I used Bigelow Vanilla Chai. I use this to make my chai teas/lattes. I love the hint of vanilla.
  2. I didn’t have cardamon, clove, or allspice so I just used about 1/4 tsp of pumpkin spice.
  3. Vanilla bean extract worked just fine. I think the vanilla flavored tea helped the vanilla flavor to really shine through as well.
  4. The recipe says 6 doughnuts and a couple doughnut holes but I came up with 5 and a half (one doughnut was thinner than the rest).
  5. Baking time is 10-12 minutes. I baked them for 10 and stuck a toothpick in one. They were done so I pulled them right out. I wish I would’ve maybe taken them out a little sooner but they weren’t dry and still moist.
  6. I made about half the cinnamon sugar coating and it worked out fine. I always have cinnamon sugar left over with things like these and then you can never really save and re-use it.  I hate throwing it away. I always think it’s best to start with less.
  7. I didn’t use 6 Tbsp of butter as adhesive for the cinnamon sugar coating. I only melted 2 Tbsp and instead of dunking the doughnuts into the butter, I lightly brushed each doughnut and coated them one at a time. I had a little butter left over it worked out to just the right amount.
  8. I also made about 1/4 of the glaze and lightly drizzled it on. I didn’t want a sugar overload. They were just perfect!

I also made these Peanut Butter and Jelly Donuts from  Broma Bakery.

untitled-6

Not much tweaking here; however,

  1. I didn’t have buttermilk so, I combined 1/2 cup of 2% milk and 1/2 Tbsp of vinegar and let it sit for about 10 minutes (you should notice the thicker consistency).
  2. I used raspberry jelly to fill mine.
  3. I had maybe 1/4 of the glaze (which was delicious) left over. I didn’t think to save it since I was in a haste to clean up. Thinking back, it would’ve been delicious on pancakes on crepes 😦 Save any leftovers!
  4. The flavor of the glaze reminded me of Mazapan (de la Rosa, Mexican peanut candy). I had some so instead of crushed peanuts, I sprinkled the crushed candy (it’s powdery with small peanut pieces). I waited for the glaze to set a little because I wanted to candy powder to hold up and not dissolve into the glaze.

These were great as well! My brother liked these more and I got a thumbs up from his doughnut loving friend.

3 thoughts on “First Homemade Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

