Kaiser Tiger

Sausage, Bacon, & Beer. What more could you ask for? Well, Kaiser Tiger in the West Loop is serving up some mean sausages and has a great rotating beer selection. Mondays are SIN (Service Industry Nights) and everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, is half off (what a deal!). Certainly, without the deal, the beer is still decently priced for a West Loop bar. The food is very good (some of the best sausages I’ve had), but I’m not sure that I’d pay the full $12 for a sausage on a pretzel roll and $5 for a side.

They do sell their sausages (uncooked) since they are made in house. So, you could take home and cook up some tasty meats. I’m not sure what the price is but I definitely would do this in the summer to grill up some of their delectable sausages at home.

Well, this past Monday, I got my grub and drink on here. I love that they have 5oz. pours of most of their draughts so can sample different beers. Their sausages are so amazing. Like I said, they’re made in house, and they have selections like chicken jalapeño tequila (What?!) and spicy Argentinean chorizo, among others. These are the two I’ve tried and they’re absolutely mouthwatering, meaty goodness.

They also have a delicious sausage and cheese board that comes with “a selection of gourmet sausage and tasty cheeses with house mustards, pickled red onions and pickled cucumbers.” The pickled veggies really are the unsung hero of this dish. They’re crunchy with just the right amount of tang to cut through to heartiness of the sausage. But, although the sausage is hearty, they’re not greasy. The flavors are on point, seasoned very well with just enough kick.

During the winter, they also offer ice curling in their back patio! Ice curling for those of you who don’t know (as I didn’t) is, according to Wikipedia is “a sport in which players slide stones on a sheet of ice towards a target area which is segmented into four concentric circles. It is related to bowls, boules and shuffleboard. Two teams, each with four players, take turns sliding heavy, polished granite stones, also called rocks, across the ice curling sheet towards the house, a circular target marked on the ice. Each team has eight stones. The purpose is to accumulate the highest score for a game; points are scored for the stones resting closest to the centre of the house at the conclusion of each end, which is completed when both teams have thrown all of their stones. A game usually consists of eight or ten ends.” Hopefully, this helps make sense of the game.

It’s a bit pricey at $40 for a half hour but if you have a group of 4 (or 8, 4 on 4), each is dishing out only $10 (or $5), which isn’t too bad to experience this seemingly enjoyable winter sport. I did not partake, as there were only 2 in my group (including myself), and it was rather cold out and I was without proper winter gear. I would totally do this (if I had enough friends). They also had teams playing for a championship (they play every Monday of the season, starting at 7:00 pm) so I didn’t want to intrude and show them up.

Anyway, here are some crappy pictures (my phone’s camera shattered in an unfortunate fall and impact on the concrete ground as I was walking to get Thai food the weekend before):

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

