Hash

This place is a gem! Absolutely loved it 🙂

Hash obviously offers an assortment of hash (the name is derived from the French verb hacher (to chop) and is chopped potatoes browned and crisped but still soft inside usually with meat, veggies, and spices cooked and served piled on top of each other for a mingle of delicious wholesomeness).

I’m a fan of mixing contrasting tastes and textures and eating them together so I particularly love hash!

I tried the Chilaquiles Hash: stewed tortilla, black beans, diced tomatoes, chopped jalapeños and chihuahua cheese, served with sour cream and salsa verde. I added the avocado for $1.50, totally worth it! You can add chorizo as well. All of this served over yummy crisp/soft chopped potatoes. I enjoyed that the tortillas were a nice balance of crispy and soggy. Everything meshed so well. It made for an awesome texture fusion and taste explosion!

I also tried the Berry Cakes (pancakes). These were heavenly! My friend and a went half and half on these dishes, okay? I probably could’ve eaten both almost entirely. IT was that good. Possible but, not a smart idea so I’m glad I didn’t. I was happily stuffed. Back to these phenomenal pancakes: 3 sizeable, fluffy, spongy pancakes with berry coulis (ideal sweetness) in between each layer, topped with luxurious, fresh whipped cream (it tasted like banana pudding which I very much appreciated, totally worked), toasted, crunchy granola, and delectable, fresh berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries). Every bite was glory to my tastebuds!

Side Note: The Berry Cakes were served without maple syrup and honestly, I don’t think they needed it. No pancakes really need maple syrup. See, I don’t even like maple syrup really. I usually opt for peanut butter, sweetened condensed milk, creme anglaise, whipped cream, bananas foster, powdered sugar, chocolate ganache, or a berry/fruit reduction. I appreciated and thought the berry coulis and whipped cream were a perfectly sweet compliment to these pancakes (:

Visit for brunch! The place is small so expect a wait but, it’s worth it! It wasn’t that long of a wait anyway and there was space in the hall which was nice since it was cold out and we didn’t want to feel crammed and in the way.

They don’t only serve hash either and they have terrifically creative specials every week as well. The Berry Cakes were a special this past week along with some enticing Italian Beef Eggs Benedict. Obviously the Berry Cakes won. Well, in the end I did. They didn’t stand a chance against me and my tocaya (:

Leave a Reply

