Gingerbread Doughnuts

We still have several weeks of winter left now that we know Punxutawney Phil (Named after the Pennsylvania city who traditionally celebrates Groundhog Day every February 2nd. Yes, I googled that.) saw his shadow last Thursday morning during the Groundhog Day festivities. I figured since we’re still in winter, why not bake up some of these bad boys?

The recipe for these Gingerbread donuts with Eggnog Glaze is from KH Nutrition.

This blogger is “a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist who believes in plant-based, intuitive eating and promotes whole real foods over the “diet of the day.”,” and I very much respect that! So this recipe is a more nutritive take on baked doughnuts (which are already a healthier option). I’m in for indulging in a good fried doughnut every now and then, but since I love food too much, I need to moderate … and run.

Alright, so some tweaks I made (and only because I didn’t feel like running to the store). Also, I’d like to apologize and admit my tweaks maybe took away the healthier approach of the original:

  1. I didn’t have any almond flour so I used all-purpose flour. I read on Nature’s Eats that the all-purpose flour conversion to almond flour ratio is usually 1:2. Since the recipe calls for 1 and 1/2 cups of almond flour, I started with a 3/4 cup of flour. I added another 1/4 since the batter was runny. It was still too runny, but I went with it anyway. I use a tipped pastry bag but this stuff was spilling out everywhere! They baked up perfectly though: very soft and fluffy, almost silky. However; maybe next time, I would add another 1/4 cup of flour (use a 1:1 ratio) or use just 1 egg instead of 2 since the other half dozen, baked doughnut recipes I’ve used call for only 1 egg. I could’ve also cut back on the almond milk, maybe a 1/4 cup or only 2 tablespoons. I tend to like a slightly more dense doughnut.
  2. I used brown sugar instead of coconut sugar. I figured this would work perfectly to achieve the gingerbread flavor. I added a little more than the recipe states (a 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar vs. 2 tbsp. of coconut sugar).
  3. The recipe is for 6 servings. I had enough batter for 8 doughnuts with this recipe. The more the merrier!
  4. I only baked mine for 12 minutes. I checked them after 10 since and they were almost done. I think almond flour has more moisture so it may need to be baked longer? The recipe calls for 25-30 minutes of baking. I had a hunch based on my previous doughnut baking experiences. Glad I checked!
  5. I wanted to try and make homemade eggnog this season but that never happened. Instead, I had some Santa Clara Rompope (Mexican eggnog liquor) that was nuez (pecan) flavored.
  6. I only made about half of the glaze and it worked but I running low close and cutting close on the last two (technically these were the extras but they still deserved a glaze).
  7. I added some chopped pecans to tie back to the nuez flavor of the rompope.

These were pleasant, not my favorite, but still really good! I’d been craving them since we baked gingerbread to make houses but we never ate them or had any gingerbread cookies over the holidays. But, it’s still winter, so give these a try! Next time, I think I’ll try the almond flour (:

 

Leave a Reply

