Magnolia Bakery

Magnolia Bakery, although a global chain, has the best banana pudding I’ve ever tried! They also bake sweets like cupcakes, cakes, pies, cookies, and cheesecakes.

Although founded in New York City, Chicago has a location downtown, on State St., close to Millennium Station. Finding this was by accident (I didn’t know they had a shop in Chicago) and now an awesome treat whenever I take the South Shore train into or out of the city. I was walking from Lake to Millennium and I saw the Magnolia Bakery sign. I’d seen their Instagram posts and remembered thinking, “If I ever go to NYC, I have to try this seemingly decadent pudding.” I love bananas! Even my brother who’s not a banana fan fancies this mouth-watering pudding. So, I dashed over (I had a train to catch).

Layers of perfectly mushy vanilla wafers, sliced, fresh bananas, and creamy, almost mousse-like, vanilla pudding just delight the palate! That’s the classic but they also have a chocolate version: Layers of Oreos, bananas, chocolate pudding, and chocolate shavings. My goodness!

I went in recently since I was in the area and National Peanut Butter day had just passed. I saw an Instagram post in which they revealed a new, nutty, limited time variation (1/24-1/29) a peanut butter banana pudding for the occasion! I was so bummed that they didn’t have any when I went in thought; PB&B is a marvelous combination. Anyway, I got a large ($6.75) classic banana pudding and a small ($3.75) chocolate pudding. Still heavenly!

I’ll have to keep an eye out for the return of the Peanut Butter Banana Pudding. I can’t wait to try it! In the meantime, I’ll keep seizing any opportunity to indulge in the classic (I like it better than the chocolate).

Leave a Reply

