Red Velvet Doughnuts

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! ❤

My family had a Valentine’s Day dinner on Sunday 🙂

I made dessert, of course. I decided on some red velvet doughnuts (my brother’s request) and some chocolate covered strawberries.

The strawberries were great! Easy enough, fresh strawberries and a mix of melted milk and semi-sweet chocolate with some extras: I dipped some in just chocolate but I also made some with chopped pecans, toasted coconut, and crushed Oreos (cream-less obviously).

These doughnuts though were absolutely incredible! The best textured baked cake doughnut I’ve made thus far. It was moist and soft but dense and chewy. The recipe I used is from Baker by Nature.

I followed the recipe almost exactly for the doughnut batter:

  1. I didn’t have buttermilk. I used half a cup of 2% milk and 1/2 a tsp of white vinegar and let it sit for about 10 minutes to thicken up. It works just as well!
  2. I added my red food coloring to my dry ingredients. I didn’t want to over mix the batter.
  3. I had enough batter to make 7 full sized doughnuts and about half of an 8th one. I used that to crumble on top!

The frosting I tweaked as well:

  1. I don’t like buttercream so much so I only made the frosting with only cream cheese, milk, and confectioner’s sugar (no butter). With that being said, I didn’t use as much sugar as the recipe calls for. I just gradually added sugar until it was sweetened to my liking so I don’t have a measurement for you. Donut (see what I did there?) worry about not having enough if you omit the butter as I did. With only 3 oz of cream cheese, I had frosting left over (and I frosted generously).

Quick tip: I wanted the frosting to have a thick consistency (as pictured by Baker by Nature and to closely resemble red velvet cake’s thick creamy cream cheese frosting). If you don’t, you can add more milk. With thick frosting, use a butter knife or a thin spatula to spread the frosting onto your doughnuts. You can’t dip the doughnuts in the frosting to glaze them. They’ll get stuck or break since they’re soft.

These tasted great (the subtle chocolate flavor and the cream cheese frosting were a perfect combo) but the texture really was outstanding.

 

 

Leave a Reply

