Stacks Bar and Grill

 

Hands down, one of my favorite restaurants is Stacks Bar and Grill in Valparaiso, IN. A library themed, cozy restaurant, making you feel comfortable with a good mix of classic fare and rotating, unique, weekly specials. Not to mention, they offer great cocktails, a huge, diverse craft beer selection that is updated frequently and a fine wine selection if you’re feeling fancy.

I visit pretty often so I’ve noticed that the food is always consistently fresh and deliciously well seasoned. I’ve never had a complaint, plus service is always exceptional.

I think I’ve tried almost everything on their menu (which is modest but sufficient). I appreciate a compact menu that gives you just enough options to satisfy any craving. Stack’s menu includes a variety of appetizers and sandwiches, salads, pizza, kid’s items, desserts, and more sizable, rustic dishes such as stuffed chicken and blackened salmon.

Although their regular menu is appreciable, their rotating weekly specials keep things fresh and interesting.

I follow their Facebook page and check out their weekly specials posted every Tuesday (they’re closed Sundays and Mondays and only open for dinner every afternoon). Last week, the deconstructed chicken pot pie caught my eye so my mom and I went on a date ❤

My mom’s one of the few people I don’t mind sharing with (: We each got an entree and shared so we could both try something new and still enjoy a classic favorite of ours (their burgers are pretty fantastic).

We order the pot pie as round one and oh my! This was stunning. Every bite was delicious and I love dishes like this: distinct flavors and textures all mixed together (melting pot style and ironically, this was served in a cast iron skillet). The deconstructed chicken pot pie had juicy pieces of grilled chicken, peas, carrots, and asiago stuffed gnocchi all harmonically intertwined in a creamy sauce topped with crispy pancetta. Heavenly.

Round 2, we both tackled the bruschetta burger: a grilled angus beef burger topped with fresh tomato, basil, melted gorgonzola cheese, baby spinach, and pesto aioli on a pretzel bun. Now, we don’t really like blue cheese so I asked for provolone cheese instead. They were very accommodating. Served with a side of roasted garlic, parmesan fries, this was amazing, as always! We were so satisfyingly and comfortably full.

I wish we had room for dessert. Their chocolate cake is warm, molten chocolate goodness topped with creamy delight – vanilla ice cream from local Valpo Velvet.

We were headed to have some drinks after so we passed on dessert but I recommend going hungry and ordering an appetizer to share, an entree (each or to share depending on your hunger), and a dessert to share along with a cold beer or a tasty cocktail.

Thursdays, they offer $5 specialty cocktails and other specials throughout the week. I’ve had some of their cocktails for dessert when I’m too stuffed but still want something sweet. I love their beer selection which they have inside a book cover as a menu, so creative. They change and are always in tune with the season. They offer draughts and bottles/cans. I’ve yet to try the wines they offer but they have a nice selection.

If you want to book a decent sized party, they have a hidden room (how cool). A sliding book shelf reveals the secret entry. They’re walls are covered in shelves full of books and some ladders hanging about. The lighting is a bit dim but it provides for a cozy environment and they have large TVs if you want to catch a televised sport event. The summer gives way to patio seating in the alley next door under sparkly lights.

Their is usually a wait but they have a small waiting area with comfy chairs and a book shelf of course. You can snag a drink at the bar while you wait as well or call ahead for a reservation.

I love book stores and libraries so I feel in love the first time I walked in with just the decor. I’ve kept coming back for the food and atmosphere which is always so spot on. My favorite spot in NWI, maybe overall.

untitled

Stacks Bar and Grill

Leave a Reply

